The 3 Base Principles on Furniture Arrangement According to Feng Shui


Whether you are 25 or 45 years old, if you have seen 80s movies you have likely heard at least the mention of Feng Shui.

It might be mentioned as a way of life, a part of Taoism, or even as an interior design style and furniture layout. But what is Feng Shui?

Feng Shui is the practice of creating balance and harmony with the natural world and harnessing the related energy sources.

This philosophy falls right in line with Taoism, an Asian practice of beliefs, based on being in balance with nature and natural forces, like the elements.

Although the first evidence of Feng Shui in Asia is from the 9th century BC, the concept did not make it to the western world until the New Age craze in the 80s.

Spirituality, Wicca, and other pagan belief systems have only continued to grow in popularity, and the recent boom in interest has brought Feng Shui back to the forefront.

The Feng Shui interior design style follows 3 primary concepts: The Commanding Position, the Taoist Bagua map, and the 5 elements.

3 Base Principles of Feng Shui:


The Commanding position.

The location of primary seating, whether it is your throne, accent chair, recliner or a sofa, should be placed diagonally from the door.

The first time you sit in this position in your living room you will completely understand why this is called the commanding position.

From that viewpoint, it is easy to feel like a king on his throne or the captain of a starship.

Using the Bagua map in interior design.

The Bagua is an extremely important part of Taoism, and by default Feng Shui interior design as well.

It is based on 8 inter related concepts of reality.

The belief is that by applying the colors, natural materials, etc. to balance yourself within nature you can improve certain areas of your life.

In interior design, a map of these 8 principles of reality is used to find 1 to 3 related areas of your life to find the colors and designs that help you manifest that intent.

The map lays out the 8 principles, with yourself in the center.

The 8 areas of the Bagua map, by row, are:

Row 1: wealth, fame, partnership.

Row 2: family, Tai Chi or yourself, children.

Row 3: knowledge, career, helpful people.

The most common mistake that people make when implementing any new self improvement plan is to try to take on too much at once.

You should only choose a maximum of three areas of reality on which to focus your intentions.

Taking on too much typically leads to failure.

You can choose any 3 areas on the map, but you may have the best results choosing areas that are directly connected.

The 5 Elements.

The primary concept of Feng Shui is to be in tune with your natural environment, so it shouldn’t be a surprise that elements are involved.

Using the materials and colors of nature brings balance to your living spaces.

Just as with the Bagua map, you don’t want to try to incorporate all 5 elements into one space.

However, you have a ton of options with just one or two elements, and they are very easy to incorporate into your design.

The 5 elements of Feng Shui are:






Incorporating wood or metal in the frames of your furniture is easy, just check for natural materials and other couches.

And any other elements you wish to represent can be added in colorful elements and patterns for the furniture, floor coverings, and décor. Go decorate.

I help people upgrade their Spirit, Mind, Body, Heart to become the best version of themselves! After 10 years of writing, coaching and collaborating with top coaches from all around the world I have learned the best secrets to help you unleash your full potential! You can be a Superhuman! Write me at [email protected] if you have any direct question! Much Love!